Teaching Excellence Awards

The Massey Teaching Excellence Award recognises the sustained commitment to teaching and learning. The recipients strive to enhance learning through a student-centred, enquiry based approach.

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

Dr Kathryn Hay

Dr Kathryn Hay

“Genuine”, “authentic” and “collegial” are words that students, colleagues and peers use to describe Dr Hay, a senior lecturer from the College of Health’s School of Social Work. As one student said of Dr Hay: “You listen and teach at the same time. You model strengths-based practice and I have always felt an equal, rather than just a student without your level of knowledge.”

Her practice is relationship-focused. Her dedication to creating meaningful connections between students, practice and the social work profession is testament to her commitment to advancing field education and the social work discipline generally.

Field education is a rewarding but also challenging experience for social work students. Dr Hay’s reputation as a leader in this sphere has provided students with unique opportunities — both in New Zealand and internationally — that stimulate and extend their worldviews. Such is her global influence that overseas universities often seek her expertise in designing field placements, and with her guidance they connect their students to the New Zealand context.

Dr Hay’s determination to advance field education practices has seen her establish enduring cross-institutional collaborations that benefit many social work students. Her achievements include a co-authored best practice publication for international placements and a textbook that connects students with the social work profession.

A previous head of school comments, “Dr Hay is an excellent teacher committed to her students and in providing a high quality learning experience in the area of field education. Her innovative teaching strategies have been recognised and embraced by her colleagues at Massey and further afield.”

Dr Cami Sawyer

Dr Cami Sawyer

Dr Sawyer is a senior tutor in mathematics from the Institute of Fundamental Sciences in the College of Sciences. She creates a positive, engaging and responsive learning environment that reduces barriers to learning mathematics so students can flourish. Her teaching philosophy is based on creating connections, including supportive relationships between students and between students and teachers, as well as user-friendly access to course content.


Her passion, enthusiasm and desire to provide the best learning experience is reflected in her sustained commitment to continued development. No better is this illustrated than in her development of tutorial videos, of which one student said: “Thanks for the excellent tutorial videos! I would have been lost in maths if it wasn’t for you. They are clear, precise and fun.”


Widely regarded as a thought-leader in best practice mathematical education, her teaching approach evolves based on student feedback and her connections with the communities from which students come. She shares her learning freely with peers and liases with communities to bridge the gap between secondary school and university.

As a senior colleague comments, “Cami’s warmth, her sense of humour and her willingness to reflect openly and honestly about her own successes and failure in the classroom make her an effective leader of teaching progress within the College of Sciences.”

Previous winners

Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

Recipients of the Vice-Chancellor's Award for Teaching Excellence

2016 | Associate Professor Margaret Brunton

2015 | Dr Trisia Farrelly, Associate Professor Ian Fuller and Dr Alison Sewell

2014 | Dr Terry Macpherson, Helen Simmons, Paul Stock. Spanish language programme: Dr Leonel Alvarado, Dr Celina Bortolotto, Raquel Direnzo, Francisco Gonzalez and Cynthia Landa

2013 | Dr Jing Chi, Dr Thom Conroy, Associate Professor John Holland, Dr Damian Ruth

2012 | Dr Elizabeth Gray, Dr Zoe Jordens, Liz Norman and Amanda Yates

2011 | Dr Gina Salapata, Dr Nigel Parsons, Associate Professor Mark Henrickson, Dr Brennon Wood, Professor Tony Signal and Neil Ward

2010 | Dr Angie Farrow, Dr Bevan Catley, Dr Craig Pritchard, Dr Eva Heinrich, Dr Neville Honey and Lois Wilkinson

Teaching Support Award

Recipients of the Teaching Support Award

2016 | Martin McMorrow

2014 | Andrew Jamieson

2013 | Scott Symonds

Excellent Practice Award

Recipients of the Excellence Practice Award

2012 | Dr Ian Fuller, Antony Pelosi, Dr Damian Ruth and Dr Gabriele Schmidt-Adam

National Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence

Recipients of the National Award for Tertiary Teaching Excellence

2013 | Dr Jing Chi

2012 | Dr Zoe Jordens and Liz Norman

2010 | Dr Angie Farrow

2009 | Dr Heather Kavan, Norman Meehan, Dr Adam Claasen and Sam Richardson

2008 | Dr Lisa Emerson and Dr Hamish Anderson

2007 | Dr Tracy Riley and Dr Bryan Walpert

2006 | Dr Juliana Mansvelt and Dr Mark Brown

2005 | Dr Regina Scheyvens

2004 | Dr Richard Shaw

2003 | Dr Terry Steward

2002 | Dr Tony Wright

Massey Contact Centre Mon - Fri 8:30am to 4:30pm 0800 MASSEY (+64 6 350 5701) TXT 5222 contact@massey.ac.nz Web chat Staff Alumni News Māori @ Massey